Understanding Czech Language, Literature and Linguistics

About this event

For an English speaker, learning Czech can be a challenging task because of its complex grammar and tricky pronunciation. However, it is also a fantastic way of reconnecting with your Czech heritage. In this online discussion, Jakub Smyčka, Polaron’s Project Coordinator for Czech & Slovak citizenship, will share with us the history of Czech language, literature and linguistics.

Jakub will be discussing:

  • History and linguistics of the Czech language
  • Differences and similarities to the English language
  • Czech literature
  • Moving to the Czech Republic as an English speaker

About our guest speaker:

Jakub Smyčka is the Project Coordinator for Czech & Slovak Citizenship at Polaron. He holds a double Bachelor’s degree in Political Science and Journalism, both from Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic. He has participated in many Czech-Polish international projects, as he is fluent in both these languages. Jakub’s biggest hobby is creating family trees. He has already added over 5,000 people to his own!

DETAILS

New York, USA – Wednesday 23 June @ 7:30 PM EDT
Melbourne, Australia – Thursday 24 June @ 9:30 AM AEST
London, UK – Thursday 24 June @ 12:30 AM BST

Watch it LIVE here: https://www.facebook.com/CzechSlovakcitizenship/live_videos/

Date/time

24/06/2021
9:30 am - 10:00 am